The Academy - History



South Bay Regional Public Safety Training Consortium (The Academy) was created in 1994 by Gavilan College and Evergreen Valley College through a California Community College Chancellor's Office Grant. From its inception, The Academy's mission was to deliver the highest quality training in the most cost-efficient manner to public safety professionals. Since 1994, nine additional colleges have joined this innovative partnership to support public safety training within their local communities.

Today, the Consortium is comprised of Gavilan College, Monterey Peninsula College, College of San Mateo, Lake Tahoe Community College, Cabrillo College, Mission College, Hartnell College, Foothill College and Ohlone College. The member college districts are: Gavilan, College of San Mateo, Hartnell, Foothill, Monterey Peninsula College, Ohlone, Mission and Lake Tahoe. The Consortium operates through a Joint Powers Agreement between South Bay Regional Public Safety Training Consortium and the member community colleges to provide training for public safety agencies in Santa Clara, San Mateo, Santa Cruz, San Benito, and Monterey Counties, and part of Alameda County, Placer County and El Dorado County.

Basic AcademyBasic Police Academy #147Basic Police Academy #148Basic Police Academy Modular Level II #24Basic Police Academy - Modular III #48

The Academy - Fire Services Training
Emergency Medical TechnicianFire Executive Chief Officer 4BFire Executive Chief Fire Officer 4BFire Executive Chief Fire Officer 4CFire Executive Chief Fire Officer 4DFire Executive Chief Fire Officer 4EFire Service Labor / Management Relations


Emergency Services Dispatch


Basic Academy RequalificationBasic Police Academy Requalification #51
Basic Police Academy Requalification #52