Law Enforcement

Academy Instructor Certification Course (AICC)

Feb 28 2022 - Mar 4 2022

Description

This course provides valuable skills for all instructors of California law enforcement including, in-service and public safety dispatch training. Students will gain facilitation skills and an understanding of how to employ adult learning methodologies appropriate for various law enforcement topics. This course meets the basic instructional skills training requirement to teach in the POST Regular Basic Course and for the Academy Instructor Certificate Program. This class is also designed as the first level of the POST Instructor Development Institute (IDI) and is a requirement of those wishing to progress through the IDI program.

Designed For

This course is ideal for seasoned instructors as well as new instructors who are ready to employ more effective and advanced instructional concepts in the classroom.

Requirements:

Preference is given to those sponsored or affiliated by a Regular Basic Academy or agency for AICP. Participants are asked to bring a laptop and any existing lesson plans for the courses they teach.

Hours

40.0 Hours

1 Unit of College Credit

Certification

Certificate issued upon completion

Reservations

Agency personnel: Please phone in (408) 229-4299 (or email to: sbrpstc@theacademy.ca.gov) the following information:

  • Class Requested
  • Agency Name
  • Training Manager's Name, Phone and email Address
  • Attendee Name(s), Email Address and DOB

 

College of Record

Monterey Peninsula College

College Term

SPRING

Location

Location:
Hilton Garden Inn
1000 Aguajito Road
Monterey, CA 93940

http://hiltongardeninn.hilton.com/en/gi/groups/personalized/M/MRYMHGI-ACU-20220227/index.jhtml

Meeting days/times

Monday - Friday
0800 - 1700

Fees

A. No tuition charged to Student:
1. Student is a POST Academy sponsored Instructor (must provide memo/email verification)
2. Student is employed by a POST reimbursable Agency

or

B. Tuition is charged directly to Student (Provided space is available) Fee $605
1. Student is retired Peace Officer/affiliated with a POST non-reimbursable Agency.

Additional fees will apply to Non-College Registered Students. Contact our main office at 408-229-4299 for specific amounts.

POST Course Control Number: 2540-21705-21-002

Late Cancellation Fee

$50 for cancellations after 01/31/2022

Payment Information

All classes require full payment or a designated deposit at time of reservation. We accept Visa and MasterCard (a transaction fee of 2% will apply), cash, money order and cashier’s checks (made payable to SBRPSTC). Agency billing may also be arranged. Financial aid and VA benefits may be available.

*ALL FEES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE. When possible, students will be advised of any fee changes prior to course start date. Tuition fee increases made at any time by the State Chancellor’s office may require collection of additional fees from students.

Students who have not lived in California for at least one (1) year and (1) day prior to start of college semester or do not meet other college criteria may be considered “out-of-state” students, and subject to additional fees to the ones listed above. Please check with our staff for details and exact costs.

Reservations

Agency personnel: please phone in (or email to: sbrpstc@theacademy.ca.gov) the following information:

  • Class Requested
  • Agency Name
  • Training Officer (TO) Name
  • TO's Email Address
  • Phone Number
  • Attendee Name(s), Email Address, DOB
  • Method of payment if applicable

Self-sponsored students: Contact our main office at (408) 229-4299 to register. Be prepared to submit full or partial payment, depending on the class

Non-U.S. Citizens: If you are not a U.S. citizen but have a Permanent Resident card, email a copy of the front and back of the card (indicate the class in which you are registering) to: sbrpstc@theacademy.ca.gov

Cancellation/Refund Policy

All classes require full payment due by or before the first day of class. Out of consideration for people who are on a waiting list, your reservation must be cancelled no later than 30 days prior to first day of class. After the 30-day cancellation period, students/agencies will forfeit a minimum of $50 for materials expenses associated with unexcused cancellations. Substitutions or transfer of your reservation to another student is permitted upon approval.

Course Cancellation by South Bay

Each class has a minimum enrollment requirement. If the minimum enrollment is not reached for the course three weeks prior to the beginning of the class, the class may be cancelled and any deposits/payments will be refunded in full.

College Application Process

This program is presented through the South Bay Regional Public Safety Training Consortium of Community Colleges (SBRPSTC), which includes Gavilan College, Monterey Peninsula College, Ohlone College, Hartnell College, Lake Tahoe Community College, College of San Mateo, and Cabrillo College.

Only courses and programs presented for college credit will be funded, transcripted and certified through one of the above accredited institutions.

Funds generated through this process offset the costs of each course, thereby reducing student fees for the student/agency and allowing us to present more courses. Consequently, we require all students taking one of our college-based courses to apply to the designated college using OpenCCC, the online college application system by which the majority of community colleges collects registration and transcription information.

Students will receive reservation confirmation and class information along with college application instructions approximately 45 days before the class starts. If applicable, you will be required to complete the college application process and submit your South Bay Registration Form, to include your OpenCCC and applicable College ID numbers no later than 30 days before the class start date.*Additional fees will apply to Non-College Registered Students. Contact our main office at (408) 229-4299 for specific amounts.