Basic Requalification Course

STUDENT NEEDS LIST

(Revised 4-14-2023)

Basic Requalification Course

This course meets all training standards governed by the Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) for law enforcement re-entry. This course is intended for people who are interested in reactivating their POST Basic Course certificate (Regular Basic Academy/Basic Academy Level I). The Academy offers this 136-hour course, which generally meets Monday through Friday, at our Coyote Valley location (560 Bailey Avenue, San Jose 95141).

Students will be provided with a complete course schedule on the first day of class.

IMPORTANT NOTICE

Class offerings are contingent upon sufficient student enrollment and are subject to rescheduling or cancellation. The purchase of equipment should be done after confirming that the class will be offered. The Academy will announce confirmation of class offerings as soon as minimal enrollment is met.

Academy Staff

The Academy Staff is comprised of both current and retired peace officers that are dedicated to your success and training. Staff and students work together to present a training environment where all students have the opportunity to succeed. The Academy staff is available to answer questions and help you prepare to enter the course. Please call Instructional Services at 408-229-4299 if you have questions related to the Basic Requalification Course.

Documents Required at Time of Reservation

POST Training Profile (or POST Basic Course Waiver Eligibility Letter) confirming successful completion of the POST Basic Course/Basic Academy Modular Level I (obtained through POST).

- 1. DOJ Firearms Clearance Letter (or law enforcement agency letter).
 - DOJ letter is generally valid for 180 days from date of issue but is subject to reverification by The Academy prior to the start of the course.
 - Livescan form only provided by The Academy.
 - For those agency-employed students, a letter from the agency's training supervisor attesting that a student meets the DOJ firearms requirement is acceptable.

2. Valid California Driver's License

 For those agency-employed students, a letter from the agency training supervisor attesting that a student's D.L. is valid is acceptable.

3. Medical clearance from a physician

- Indicates student is medically cleared to fully participate in all course training activities.
- Must be on Academy form.

4. Proof of Current Medical Insurance

 For those agency-employed students, a letter from the agency training supervisor attesting that a student has sufficient medical insurance coverage is acceptable.

Student Fees

You will be provided with necessary equipment and materials required to complete the course; i.e., POST Workbooks, Penal Code, etc. The cost of materials will be provided at the time of enrollment through Instructional Services. You will receive hard copy documents; if you prefer a digital version of certain class materials, they can be purchased at The Academy Bookstore. You must supply your own writing instruments, notepaper or other supplies as deemed necessary.

As a student, you will receive college credit for this course and as such, you will be required to pay all fees associated with the required college registration. Fees are announced and stated; refer to the Student Materials and Fee form for details.

Residency Requirement

If you are a self-sponsored student who has **not lived in California** for at least one year and one day from the day proceeding the opening day of instruction, of the quarter semester or other session; you will be subject to out-of-state registration fees. Please inquire with Instructional Services if you have any questions regarding "out of state" college registration. <u>Reference Code</u> ECS68023, T54002.

Reservations, Payment, and Cancellations

Reservations will be accepted once you have passed entrance assessment exams and paid the deposit fee. In the event you cancel your reservation less than **21 days** prior to the start date of the class, this fee is **non-refundable**. If you cancel your reservation prior to the 21-day cancellation period, all fees will be returned to you. Payment must be made either by cashier check, money order, Visa or MasterCard. Cashier's checks or money orders must be valid for at least 90 days and made payable to: **South Bay Regional Public Safety Training Consortium or SBRPSTC.**

Subject to Change

Academy fees are subject to change.

Academy materials and equipment requirements are subject to change.

Please contact Instructional Services for current fees and academy requirements.

A minimum cancellation fee will be assessed for cancellations occurring less than 21 days prior to the class start date.

Uniform Requirements

Provided by The Academy:

Polo shirt (issued on the first day of class): Green in color with student name and Academy logo. The polo shirt will be tucked in at all times.

Provided by Student:

- 1. **Pants:** BDU (fatigue-style), black in color (pants are NOT bloused inside of boot).
- 2. **Belt:** Trouser belt designed to be worn under police equipment belt, black in color.
- 3. **Boots/shoes:** Law Enforcement style duty boots, or work/utility uniform shoe, black in color. Tennis Shoes will be required on ACT days.
- 4. **Cover/hat:** None (students may wear a professional hat in good condition while on the outdoor firing range, Academy hat can be purchased in the Academy Bookstore).

Any undershirt worn must be black in color.

ALL STUDENTS MUST REPORT ON THE FIRST DAY OF CLASS WEARING THE APPROPRIATE UNIFORM.

Police Duty Belt/Equipment

- 1. Duty belt: Sam Brown belt leather basket weave or nylon, black in color. Agency students may wear department approved belt.
- 2. Gun holster: Designed for approved firearm and designed to be worn on standard police duty belt.
- 3. Belt keepers: To attach duty belt to pants.
- 4. Baton: A 26"or 29" straight wooden or wood composite police baton with grommet. Expandable batons are allowed (agency students may use their department issued impact weapon). Side handle batons are not allowed.
- 5. Baton-ring
- 6. Handcuffs: One is required (Two optional).
- 7. Handcuff case: Able to be closed (handcuffs are prone to loss and/or damage when carried in an open case during training).
- 8. Magazines: Three magazines for approved firearm (magazines are prone to damage during training).
- 9. Magazine holder: Double magazine holder capable of securing magazines with a closable flap.
- 10. Hearing protection: Ear protectors of the ear muff type (ear plugs recommended for additional protection).
- 11. Eye protection: Designed for protecting the eyes from impact from flying material (may be purchased through the Academy bookstore).
- 12. Bulletproof vest: You may bring your own or one will be provided for you.

NOTE: Agency sponsored students may wear the type of duty equipment required by their department (i.e. Brass or Velcro, nylon, non-basket weave, etc.).

All equipment must be in good condition and professional in appearance.

Firearms and Ammunition

- The Academy will NOT provide students with handguns (shotguns will be provided).
- The Academy allows .9mm, .40 caliber and .45 caliber ACP semi-automatic handguns ONLY. The approved handgun must be a <u>full size</u> "duty" handgun and <u>NOT</u> a model typically used as an off-duty or under cover handgun. (NO sub-compacts.) Compact sized models are discouraged unless issued by an agency or you are proficient with the firearm. If in doubt, ask the Academy Coordinator prior to purchasing your handgun. Handguns must be standard black or silver color. No designer colors allowed. Maximum barrel length is 5".
- NO Single Action, Cock & Lock Style firearm allowed; e.g., 1911 pistols.
- You will need three (3) magazines for Range training. DO NOT bring magazines until told to do so.
- You must **legally** possess the firearm by the first Range day. **DO NOT** bring firearms to class until cleared to do so by academy staff.

IMPORTANT:

California law has restrictions on the borrowing of handguns. All students under the age of 21 who will be borrowing a handgun, please refer to the Department of Justice (DOJ) Report of Operation of Law or Intra-Familial Firearm Transaction (BOF 4544A).

All students 21 years of age and older are required to be the registered owner of the handgun used while in The Academy. You must provide The Academy with proof of weapon ownership as stated on the Automated Firearms System (AFS) Request for Firearm Records (BOF 053).

If you are a new resident to California, you must also complete the <u>New Resident Firearm</u> Ownership Report (BOF 4010A).

NOTE: An original gun dealer receipt will be accepted as proof of ownership as long as it is detailed and includes the firearm make, model, serial number, and your information (including DL).

- There is a 10-day waiting period for all purchases and transfers which must be done through a Federal Firearms Licensee (FFL).
- Ammunition is included in the course fees. Only Academy authorized ammunition shall be used.
- No weapons will be used at the Academy Range without approval of the Academy Coordinator or Director.
- DO NOT BRING FIREARMS TO THE ACADEMY UNTIL DIRECTED TO DO SO by the Academy Coordinator.
- Agency sponsored students: contact your employer for your weapon.

Class Materials

Upon paying the registration fee, your study materials and polo shirts will be ordered. These materials will be provided for you prior to the start of class and/ or on the first day of class.

Additional safety equipment (i.e. eye and hearing protection) may be purchased at the Academy Bookstore. Students must supply their own writing instruments, note paper or other supplies, as they deem necessary. A **Laptop will also be required** to access Learning Domains digitally (LD's will be provided via a USB). No instruction may be video or sound recorded without permission from the Academy Director. If you would like LD's to be printed, you can visit The Academy Bookstore.

First Day Needs List

You will need to have the following items on the FIRST day of class:

- 1. YOU MUST BE IN UNIFORM (polo shirt-issued on first day, BDU pants with belt; no duty belt, boots/shoes).
- 2. No. 2 lead pencils (at least 2).
- 3. Medium point, black ink pen.
- 4. Other class materials will be provided on the first day.

Purchasing a Uniform

The standard uniform to be worn in the Basic Re-Qualification Course is the Academy polo shirt and black BDU fatigue style pant. BDUs can usually be purchased at any police or military supply store. Below is a list of police supply stores in the area of the Academy.

CA COAST UNIFORMS www.calcoastuniforms.com	4242 Capitola Road, Capitola, CA	831-475-1911
LC ACTION www.lcaction.com	1088 North First Street, San Jose, CA	408-294-2677
PENINSULA UNIFORMS www.peninsulauniforms.com	2626 Broadway, Redwood City, CA	650-701-0911
SALINAS VALLEY PRO SQUAD www.svprosquad.com	221 Griffin Street, Salinas, CA	831-758-2128
SUMMIT UNIFORM summituniforms.com	545 Meridian Ave, Ste. A, San Jose, CA	408-293-8633
Previously Worn Uniforms		
THE ACADEMY BOOKSTORE	560 Bailey Ave. San Jose, CA	408-29-4299