

Signature

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE BUREAU OF FIREARMS New Resident Report of Firearm Ownership



California Penal Code section 27560

A processing fee of \$19.00 must accompany this application.

(Instructions on reverse) A. Owner Information Last Name: First Name: Middle Name: Alias First Name: Alias Last Name (if any): Alias Middle Name: City: State: Residence Street Address: Zip Code: Mailing Address (if different): City: State: Zip Code: Height: Phone No. (include area code): Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy): Place of Birth (state or country): Weight: Sex: Yes If no, enter Alien Registration No. or I-94 No.: Country of Citizenship: U.S. Citizen? ○ No ID Type (check one): ID Number: Enter your California driver license (CDL), California ID (CID), or Military ID (MIL) number in the ID number box to the right. If using military identification you must send a copy of your CDL CID MIL permanent duty station orders stating you are stationed in California. B. Firearm(s) Information (To report additional firearm(s) copy and attach additional applications) Firearm Type: Category: (select from list on page 2) Serial Number: Handgun Caliber: Make: Model: Firearm Origin: Barrel Length: ()IN. CM. Acquired From: Date Acquired (mm/dd/yyyy): Firearms Dealer Family Member (Specify Relationship): Color: Private Party Gun Show Other: Firearm Type: Category: (select from list on page 2) Serial Number: Handgun Rifle Shotgun Make: Model: Caliber: Firearm Origin: Barrel Length: OIN. CM. Acquired From: Color: Date Acquired (mm/dd/yyyy): Firearms Dealer Family Member (Specify Relationship): Private Party Gun Show Other: Firearm Type: Category: (select from list on page 2) Serial Number: (Handgun Rifle Shotgun
 Make: Model: Caliber: Firearm Origin: Barrel Length: ○IN. CM. Acquired From: Firearms Dealer Family Member (Specify Relationship): Color: Date Acquired (mm/dd/yyyy): Private Party Gun Show Other: C. Declaration: I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. I expressly authorize the Department of Justice to perform firearms eligibility checks of all relevant state and federal databases, including the Federal Bureau of Investigation's National Instant Criminal Background Check System. I also understand that if I currently possess or own firearms and the results of this check reveal that I am ineligible either to lawfully possess or purchase firearms, I must relinquish any and all firearms in my possession.

Date



CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE BUREAU OF FIREARMS New Resident Report of Firearm Ownership



New Resident Report of Firearm Ownership Submission Requirements

Pursuant to Penal Code section 28230, subdivision (a)(3), you must submit this application along with a \$19.00 processing fee (check or money order made payable to the Department of Justice) to:

Department of Justice Bureau of Firearms P.O. Box 820200 Sacramento, CA 94203-0200

Please note, incomplete applications or applications submitted without the proper fees will be returned without processing. If reporting more than three firearms, attach additional copies of this form as needed. A firearms eligibility check will be conducted to determine whether you are lawfully eligible to possess firearms. Once approved, you will receive a confirmation notice of your New Resident Report of Firearm Ownership.

This form may not be used to report ownership of assault weapons defined in Penal Code sections 30510 through 30530. It is the responsibility of the applicant to determine if the firearm being reported is an assault weapon. A list of assault weapons is available on the Bureau of Firearms website at www.oag.ca.gov/firearms.

Please be advised that if you are completing this form to comply with Penal Code section 27560 (a), this form must be completed within 60 days of bringing a firearm into the state of California and becoming a resident. (Pen. Code, § 17000 subd. (a)(6).)

Part A. Owner Information

Enter the information as requested. Only one applicant per form. If you are using a military number for identification, you must include a copy of your permanent duty station orders indicating you are stationed in California.

Part B. Firearm Information

For each firearm, you must provide the identification information requested. Please refer to your firearm owner's manual, the firearm manufacturer's website, or the examples below to assist you in providing the required information:

• Firearm Type: Handgun, Rifle, or Shotgun

Category: Bolt Action, Lever Action, Pump Action, Revolver, Semi-Automatic, or Single Shot

Serial Number
 Usually located on the frame of a handgun, or the receiver of a long gun. May be all numeric

or a combination of alpha and numeric characters. (e.g., 98765, US54321G)

• Make The manufacturer of the firearm. (e.g., Remington, Winchester, Glock, Smith & Wesson)

• Model The model name of the firearm. (e.g., 870 Express, Model 70, 17C, 29-10)

Caliber The caliber of the firearm. (e.g., 12 gauge, .308 Winchester, 9 mm, .44 Magnum)

• Firearm Origin The country of origin of the firearm. (e.g., United States, Russia, China, Italy)

• Barrel Length Enter the barrel length as stated either in your owner's manual, manufacturer's website, or

measure the barrel length by closing the action of the firearm and inserting a wooden dowel down the barrel until it stops. Mark the dowel with a pen at the muzzle. Remove the dowel and measure the distance between the inserted end of the dowel and the pen mark.

Part C. Declaration

You must sign and date the declaration on this application.