Law Enforcement

Basic Academy Modular Level Two #24

Jul 23 2018 - Nov 6 2018


This 280 hour course includes fundamental principles, procedures and techniques of law enforcement. The course satisfies all minimum required training mandates governed by POST for Entry Level II Peace Officer. 

Designed For

This course is designed and intended for employed or aspiring Reserve Level II candidates wishing to meet all training requirements for a Reserve Level II Peace Officer in the State of California.


Must complete the Academy application process (i.e. medical clearance, proof of medical insurance, DMV). Successfully complete Basic Academy Level III with current PC832 (Laws of Arrest/Firearms) Certificate and provide a POST Training Profile. Must successfully complete the DOJ Firearms Clearance process.

See copy of Student's Needs List for equipment details. The Academy will provide PT gear as needed.


280 Hours


7 Semester Units


The course satisfies all minimum required training mandates for POST Entry Level II Reserve Law Enforcement Officers.  Certificate awarded upon completion.

College of Record

Gavilan College


The Academy at Coyote Valley
560 Bailey Avenue
San Jose, CA 95141


Total fee: $2177.00

Registration: $345.00
Student Fee: $6.00
Materials: $364.00
Ammo: $1462.00

Out of state fees may apply if you are not a California resident. Please contact our office for questions.

Deposit due at registration of $400 will be applied to class fees

All fees must be paid in full at least two weeks before the start of class and all registration forms completed.

All classes require full payment or a designated deposit at time of reservation. We accept Visa and MasterCard (a transaction fee of 2% will apply), cash, money order and cashier's check (made payable to SBRPSTC). Agency billing may also be arranged. Financial aid and VA benefits may be available. All fees subject to change.

Meeting days/times

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday - 18:00-22:00 Sunday - 8:00-1700


Agency personnel: please phone in (or email to: the following information:

  • Class Requested
  • Agency Name
  • Training Officer (TO) Name
  • TO's Email Address
  • Phone Number
  • Attendee Name(s), Email Address, DOB

Self-sponsored students: Contact our main office at (408) 229-4299 to register. Be prepared to submit partial or full payment, depending on the class. All registration documents and final payment must be submitted at least two weeks prior to the start date of the course. Only certain courses have downloadable registration materials; click here to view a list of those courses.

All students are required to pay for the course by the first day of class.

All students are required to apply through OpenCCC. Refer to the College of Record, listed previously on this flyer, then click here for step-by-step instructions according to that college. (Exceptions: POST Management Course or any other Contract course.)

Non-U.S. Citizens

If you are not a U.S. citizen but have a Permanent Resident card, email a copy of the front and back of the card (indicate the class in which you are registering) to:

Cancellation / Refund Policy

All classes require full payment due by or before the first day of class. Out of consideration for people who are on a waiting list, please cancel your reservation no later than 21 days prior to first day of class. After the 21-day cancellation period, students will forfeit a minimum of $50 for materials expenses associated with unexcused cancellations. Substitutions or transfer of registration to another student is permitted upon approval.

Course Cancellation

Each class has a minimum enrollment requirement. If the minimum enrollment is not reached for the course three weeks before the class begins, the class will be cancelled, and deposits will be refunded in full.

*ALL FEES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE. NO EXCEPTIONS. When possible students will be advised of any fee changes prior to course start date. Tuition fee increases made at anytime by the State Chancellor's office may require collection of additional fees from students. We Accept Visa, MasterCard, Money Order, Cashier's Check, Cash or Agency Billing (by arrangement). Make Money Order or Cashiers Checks payable to: SBRPSTC

Out of State or Non-Affiliated students who have not lived in California for at least one (1) year and one (1) day prior to start of college semester are subject to "out of state" college registration fees in addition to the fees listed above. Please check with our staff for details and exact costs.

This program is presented through the South Bay Regional Public Safety Training Consortium of Community Colleges (SBRPSTC), which includes Gavilan College, Monterey Peninsula College, Ohlone College, Hartnell College, Foothill College, Lake Tahoe Community College, Mission College, College of San Mateo, and Cabrillo College.

Only courses and programs presented for college credit will be funded, transcripted and certified through one of these accredited institutions.