
SAFETY AND HEALTH PROTECTION ON THE JOB 
State of California 
Department of  Industrial Relations 

 
California law provides job safety and health protection for workers under the Cal/OSHA program. This poster explains the basic requirements and procedures for compliance with the 
state’s job safety and health laws and regulations. The law requires that this poster be displayed. (Failure to do so could result in a penalty of up to $7,000.) 

 
WHAT AN EMPLOYER MUST DO: 

All employers must provide work and workplaces that are safe and healthful. In 
other words, as an employer, you must follow state laws governing job safety and 
health. Failure to do so can result in a threat to the life or health of workers, and 
substantial monetary penalties. 

You must display this poster so everyone on the job can be aware of basic 
rights and responsibilities. 

You must have a written and effective injury and illness prevention program for 
your employees to follow. 

You must be aware of hazards your employees face on the job and keep re- 
cords showing that each employee has been trained in the hazards unique to each 
job assignment. 

You must correct any hazardous condition that you know may result in serious 
injury to employees. Failure to do so could result in criminal charges, monetary 
penalties, and even incarceration. 

You must notify the nearest Cal/OSHA office of any serious injury or illness, 
or fatality occurring on the job. Be sure to do this immediately after calling for 
emergency help to assist the injured employee.  Failure to report a serious injury or 
illness, or fatality within 8 hours can result in a minimum civil penalty of $5,000. 

 
WHAT AN EMPLOYER MUST NEVER DO: 

Never permit an employee to do work that violates Cal/OSHA law. 
Never permit an employee to be exposed to harmful substances without provid- 

ing adequate protection. 
Never allow an untrained employee to perform hazardous work. 

 
EMPLOYEES HAVE CERTAIN RIGHTS IN WORKPLACE SAFETY & HEALTH: 

As an employee, you (or someone acting for you) have the right to file a com- 
plaint and request an inspection of your workplace if conditions there are unsafe 
or unhealthful. This is done by contacting the local district office of the Division of 
Occupational Safety and Health (see list of offices). Your name is not revealed by 
Cal/OSHA, unless you request otherwise. 

You also have the right to bring unsafe or unhealthful conditions to the attention 
of the Cal/OSHA investigator making an inspection of your workplace. Upon request, 
Cal/OSHA will withhold the names of employees who submit or make statements 
during an inspection or investigation. 

Any employee has the right to refuse to perform work that would violate a Cal/ 
OSHA or any occupational safety or health standard or order where such violation 
would create a real and apparent hazard to the employee or other employees. 

You may not be fired or punished in any way for filing a complaint about unsafe 
or unhealthful working conditions, or using any other right given to you by Cal/OSHA 
law. If you feel that you have been fired or punished for exercising your rights, you 
may file a complaint about this type of discrimination by contacting the nearest office 
of the Department of Industrial Relations, Division of Labor Standards Enforcement 
(State Labor Commissioner) or the San Francisco office of the U.S. Department of 
Labor, Occupational Safety and Health Administration. (Employees of state or 
local government agencies may only file these complaints with the State Labor 
Commissioner.) Consult your local telephone directory for the office nearest you. 

 
EMPLOYEES ALSO HAVE RESPONSIBILITIES: 

To keep the workplace and your coworkers safe, you should tell your employer 
about any hazard that could result in an injury or illness to people on the job. 

While working, you must always obey state job safety and health laws. 
 
 
 
HELP IS AVAILABLE: 

SPECIAL RULES APPLY IN WORK AROUND HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCES: 
Employers who use any substance listed as a hazardous substance in Section 

339 of Title 8 of the California Code of Regulations, or subject to the Hazard 
Communications Standard (T8 CCR Section 5194), must provide employees with 
information on the contents on Safety Data Sheets (SDS),  or equivalent 
information about the substance that trains employees to use the substance safely. 

Employers shall make available on a timely and reasonable basis a Safety Data 
Sheet on each hazardous substance in the workplace upon request of an 
employee, an employee collective bargaining representative, or an employee’s 
physician. 

Employees have the right to see and copy their medical records and records of 
exposure to potentially toxic materials or harmful physical agents. 

Employers must allow access by employees or their representatives to accurate 
records of employee exposures to potentially toxic materials or harmful physical 
agents, and notify employees of any exposures in concentration or levels 
exceeding the exposure limits allowed by Cal/OSHA standards. 

Any employee has the right to observe monitoring or measuring of employee 
exposure to hazards conducted pursuant to Cal/OSHA regulations. 
 

WHEN CAL/OSHA COMES TO THE WORKPLACE: 
A trained Cal/OSHA safety engineer or industrial hygienist may periodically visit 

the workplace to make sure your company is obeying job safety and health laws. 
An inspection will also be conducted when a legitimate complaint is filed by an 

employee with the Division of Occupational Safety and Health. 
Cal/OSHA also goes to the workplace to investigate a serious injury or fatality. 
When an inspection begins, the Cal/OSHA investigator will show official identifi- 

cation from the Division of Occupational Safety and Health. 
The employer, or someone the employer chooses, will be given an opportunity to 

accompany the investigator during the inspection. A representative of the employees 
will be given the same opportunity. Where there is no authorized employee representa- 
tive, the investigator will talk to a reasonable number of employees about safety and 
health conditions at the workplace. 
 

VIOLATIONS, CITATIONS & PENALTIES: 
If the investigation shows that the employer has violated a safety and health 

standard or order, then the Division of Occupational Safety and Health issues  a 
citation. Each citation specifies  a date by which the violation must be abated. A 
notice, which carries no monetary penalty, may be issued in lieu of a citation for 
certain non-serious violations. 

Citations carry penalties of up to $7,000 for each regulatory or general violation 
and up to $25,000 for each serious violation. Additional penalties of up to $7,000 
per day for regulatory or general violations and up to $15,000 per day for serious 
violations may be proposed for each failure to correct a violation by the abatement 
date shown on the citation. A penalty of not less than $5,000 nor more than $70,000 
may be assessed an employer who willfully violates any occupational safety and 
health standard or order.  The maximum civil penalty that can be assessed for 
each repeat violation is $70,000. A willful violation that causes death or permanent 
impairment of the body of any employee results, upon conviction, in a fine of not 
more than $250,000, or imprisonment up to three years, or both and if the employer 
is a corporation or limited liability company the fine may not exceed $1.5 million. 

The law provides that employers may appeal citations within 15 working days 
of receipt to the Occupational Safety and Health Appeals Board. 

An employer who receives a citation, Order to Take Special Action, or Special 
Order must post it prominently  at or near the place of the violation for three working 
days, or until the unsafe condition is corrected, whichever is longer, to warn employ- 
ees of danger that may exist there. Any employee may protest the time allowed for 
correction of the violation to the Division of Occupational Safety and Health or the 
Occupational Safety and Health Appeals Board. 

To learn more about job safety rules, you may contact the Cal/OSHA Consultation Service for free information, required forms and publications. You can also contact a 
local district office of the Division of Occupational Safety and Health. If you prefer, you may retain a competent private consultant, or ask your workers’ compensation insur- 
ance carrier for guidance in obtaining information. 

Call the FREE Worker Information Hotline - 1-866-924-9757 
 

O FFI C ES O F TH E D IVISIO N OF OCCUP ATI O N AL S AFETY AN D H EALTH 
HEADQUARTERS: 1515 Clay Street, Ste. 1901, Oakland, CA 94612 — Telephone (510) 286-7000 

District Offices 
American Canyon  
Bakersfield 
Foster City 

 
3419 Broadway St., Ste. H8, American Canyon 94503 
7718 Meany Ave., Bakersfield 93308                 
1065 East Hillsdale Blvd. Suite 110, Foster City 94404 

 
(707)649-3700 
(661)588-6400 
(650)573-3812 

Cal/OSHA Consultation Services 
 

Area & Field Offices 
       Fremont                  39141 Civic Center Dr. Suite 310, Fremont 94538      (510) 794-2521

Fresno 
Long Beach 
Los Angeles 
Modesto 
Oakland 
Redding 
Sacramento 

2550 Mariposa St. Room 4000, Fresno 93721 
3939 Atlantic Ave., Ste. 212, Long Beach 90807 
320 West Fourth St. Room 670, Los Angeles 90013 
4206 Technology Dr. Suite 3, Modesto 95356 
1515 Clay St. Suite 1303, Oakland 94612 
381 Hemsted Dr., Redding 96002 
2424 Arden Way Suite 165, Sacramento 95825 

(559) 445-5302  
(562) 506-0810 
(213) 576-7451 
(209) 545-7310 
(510) 622-2916  
(530) 224-4743 
(916) 263-2800 

• Fresno/Central V alley 
 
 
• Oakland/Bay Area 

1901 North Gateway Blvd. 
Suite 102, Fresno 93727 
 
1515 Clay St. Suite 1103 
Oakland 94612

(559) 454-1295 
 
 
(510) 622-2891 

San Bernardino 464 West Fourth St. Suite 332, San Bernardino 92401 (909) 383-4321 • Sacramento/Northern CA  2424 Arden Way Suite 410  (916) 263-0704 
San Diego 
San Francisco 
Santa Ana 
Van Nuys 
West Covina 

7575 Metropolitan Dr. Suite 207, San Diego 92108 
455 Golden Gate Ave. Rm. 9516, San Francisco 94105 
2000 E. McFadden Ave, Ste. 122, Santa Ana 92705  
6150 Van Nuys Blvd. Suite 405, Van Nuys 91401 
1906 West Garvey Ave. S. Suite 200, West Covina 91790 
 

(619) 767-2280 
(415) 557-0100 
(714) 558-4451 
(818) 901-5403 
(626) 472-0046 

 
• San Bernardino 
 
 
• San Diego/Imperial Counties 

Sacramento 95825 
464 West Fourth St. Suite 339 
San Bernardino 92401 
 

7575 Metropolitan Dr. Suite 204 
San Diego 92108 

(909) 383-4567 

(619) 767-2060 

Regional Offices  • San Fernando Valley  6150 Van Nuys Blvd. Suite 307  (818) 901-5754 

San Francisco 
Sacramento 
Santa Ana 
Monrovia 

455 Golden Gate Ave., Rm 9516, San Francisco 94102 
2424 Arden Way Ste. 300, Sacramento 95825 
2000 E. McFadden Ave. Ste. 119, Santa Ana 92705 
750 Royal Oaks Drive, Ste. 104, Monrovia 91016 

(415)557-0300 
(916)263-2803 
(714)558-4300 
(626)471-9122 

 

• La Palma/Los Angeles        
/Orange County 

Van Nuys 91401 
1 Centerpointe Dr. Suite 150 
La Palma 90623 

 
 
(714) 562-5525 

 
Enforcement of Cal/OSHA job safety and health standards is carried out by the Division of Occupational Safety and Health, under the California Department of Industrial Relations, which has 
primary responsibility for administering the Cal/OSHA program. Safety and health standards are promulgated by the Occupational Safety and Health Standards Board. Anyone desiring to register 
a complaint alleging inadequacy in the administration of the California Occupational Safety and Health Plan may do so by contacting the San Francisco Regional Office of the Occupational Safety 
and Health Administration (OSHA), U.S.  Department of Labor (Tel: 415-975-4310). OSHA monitors the operation of state plans to assure that continued approval is merited.           January 2016 


